Friday, May 6, 2011

2011 Kentucky Derby, is there a Triple Crown Winner in this field?

The Kentucky Derby is a Grade I stakes race for three-year-old Thoroughbred horses, held annually in Louisville, Kentucky, on the first Saturday in May. The race is one and a quarter miles at Churchill Downs. Colts and geldings carry 126 pounds and fillies 121 pounds. The race is known in the United States as "The Most Exciting Two Minutes in Sports" or "The Run for the Roses" for the blanket of roses draped over the winner. It is the first leg of the United States Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing and is followed by the Preakness Stakes then the Belmont Stakes. The horse must win all three to win the Triple Crown. The attendance at the Kentucky Derby ranks first in North America and usually surpasses the attendance of all other stakes races including the Preakness Stakes, Belmont Stakes and the Breeders' Cup.

The 2011 Kentucky Derby will be the 137th running of the Kentucky Derby. The race will take place on May 7, 2011, and will be televised in the United States on the NBC television network. The post time is 6:24 p.m. EDT

The field for the  137th running of The Kentucky Derby

      Horse                         Jockey

1 Archarcharch               Jon Court
2 Brilliant Speed             Joel Rosario
3 Twice the Appeal        Calvin Borel
4 Stay Thirsty                 Ramon A. Dominguez
5 Decisive Moment        Kerwin Clark
6 Comma To The Top   Pat Valenzuela
7 Pants On Fire             Rosie Napravnik
8 Dialed In                    Julien Leparoux
9 Derby Kitten              Javier Castellano
10 Twinspired               Mike E. Smith
11 Master of Hounds    Garrett K. Gomez
12 Santiva                     Shaun Bridgmohan
13 Mucho Macho Man  Rajiv Maragh
14 Shackleford              Jesus Castanon
15 Midnight Interlude     Victor Espinoza
16 Animal Kingdom       Robby Albarado
17 Soldat                      Alan Garcia
18 Uncle Mo                 John R. Velazquez
19 Nehro                      Corey Nakatani
20 Watch Me Go          Rafael Bejarano

 The 1973 Kentucky Derby won by the immortal SECRETARIAT

No comments:

Post a Comment